Mmm, new yarn…

BSA Dyed Cotton

The cotton that changed my world.

This, my friends, is Blue Sky Alpacas Dyed Cotton (Rav Link) in color #632 – Mediterranean. And my goodness, is it ever YUMMY.  Here’s the thing.  I started to knit, found Malabrigo, fell in love, touched a small amount of cotton in a big box store, said “Ew.  Rough, no stretch, ugly colors.  Cotton is GROSS,” and went on my merry little way knitting with every animal fiber I could get my hands on, and acrylic or silk when I was not using animal fibers.

Then I decided that I needed an Abalone (rav link).  It calls for worsted, so I COULD have gone out and bought a couple of skeins of my lovely Mal for it, but decided to check out a LYS nearby to see if there was a more summer-appropriate alternative (since I’m living in Van for the summer, I want to see what they are all about in a big city :D).  Quick plug for the store – it was Urban Yarns on Edgemont, and it was great!  Lovely, lovely yarns.  The lady working there was quite content to let me browse and have my BF chill out on her couch looking bored out of his mind and then was helpful at the end making sure I was sure that 4 skeins would be enough yarn and that they were all the same dyelot (well, they aren’t, but they didn’t have 4 of the same and I’m comfortable with 2-row striping).   They have a knit night on Tuesdays, and I may need to check it out :D

Abalone WIP

Anywho, going there led me to paw at this yarn a bunch and then wander off to go paw at animal fibers and then come back to this, back and forth and back and forth, before finally deciding to give it a shot.  And I’m glad I did!  It doesn’t have the same bounce as merino, obviously, but it is sooooo soft.  Bonus is it’s cool enough to knit with in summer heat!  I’ve made it about 11 inches into the body of the Abalone, but it doesn’t look like much yet.  Just a lovely, oceany-blue lump of stockinette.  I may add in longer sleeves, and use a contrast color for the edgings.  I think an espresso brown would be lovely!

It’s a bit of a change to knit with and I think my tension is a teensy bit wonky because of the lack of elasticity, but from what I hear about cotton, it’ll even out and get even softer with washing and blocking.  Some people have warned me of pilling, but I’m not worried.  That’s the price you pay for softness!

002

Oh, so soft...

This entry was posted in Knit. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mmm, new yarn…

  1. Monique says:

    Wow! I love this color! I’ll have to check back to see your progress and finished project. :)

  2. kala says:

    That’s such a gorgeous color!

  3. Katie says:

    I think I’m going to have to give this yarn another chance. I tried knitting with it early last year, when I was still a rather new knitter, and absolutely hated working with it. I traded what I had for some Tahki Yarns Cotton Classic and had a much better time with that.

    Now I’ve gotten better, and I think I could work around whatever bothered me about the yarn before. Glad to hear it’s working well for you :)

  4. AC says:

    I hear you girl, I have been loving me some cotton recently too. It’s hard to stay motivated to knit in the summertime, but cotton helps!

  5. SusanB-knits says:

    Beautiful color! I think the brown edging would set it off nicely.
    I’m not a fan of cotton but I may have to check this yarn out.

  6. stephcuddles says:

    Ooooh that does look VERY nice. I may have to try get me some o’ that. Wonder if it’s available in the UK.

  7. Ellen says:

    What a great rich color! I’m sure it’ll be beautiful once it’s all done. I am finding that yarn is like chinese food for me – 9 times out of 10 I order the same thing (or use the same yarns I know I love) and once in a while I venture forth to find something new. Looks like your venturing forth was well worth it!

  8. yarnpiggy says:

    I love the BSA Cotton — so soft, and such gorgeous colours. :-)

    Did you get a sandwich at La Galleria before/after your visit to Urban Yarns? Uber-yummy!

  9. Tammy says:

    That is purty…..I have some in a bright yellow -hmmmm

Leave a Reply

