The thumb gusset of dreams

Prada Socks

Prada Socks

I’m pretty stoked for this new project of mine. It’s basically me taking those AWESOME cabled socks from the Prada Fall RTW Collection and turning them into mitts.  I think they are going fabulously so far.  I’m using Cascade 220 and Patons Classic Wool Merino in similar greys and blacks.  I’d initially planned to to intarsia in-the-round for this project, but I found that with the size of the cable, it was easier to just tug the yarn behind – and that helped to make the cable pop out even more, like it does on the socks. They are ribbed all the way down to make a great fit, and I’ve been switching to smaller needles and a tighter gauge to make the fit even nicer.  And I’ve gotta say, the switch from the black ribbing to the grey worked PERFECTLY.  I’ve got nice purl lines that run all the way down the mitts, without doing k1, p1 for the entire length of it :D

But what am I REALLY in love with on these mitts? That’s gotta be the thumb gusset.  I had started knitting it with a plan, but it was just too far over so the cable was off-center and then as I worked, I realized that there was no way I was going to be able to make the gusset actually fit a person if I kept going the way I was.  In order to keep the pattern looking nice, it would either be too tiny even by my standards or waaayyyyy too big.  I put it down and went to bed.

My Prada Mitt

I then had a very realistic dream where I ripped them out and reknit them slightly differently, and it was perfect.  The cable was centered, they flowed beautifully in with the ribbing and they fit. It was kinda sad to wake up and find out that it hadn’t actually happened yet, but I did them just like in the dream and it turns out my subconscious was right.  It’s going to be a bit irritating to write up, as I used 3 different types of increases, and mirrored them all for each side of the gusset, but it is SO worth it.

I’m a meanie.  With this post title and all my love for the gusset, I’m not even sharing pics of it.  Sorry – I just can’t seem to get a good pic of that angle on my hand. I promise when the mitt is done, there’ll be pics :D

This entry was posted in Dianna Designs, Knit. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The thumb gusset of dreams

  1. Alex says:

    Dude! These are awesome!!! (And more practical than having giant cables on your socks, though let’s not lie, I’d wear those too. Oh Prada. You so fancy.)

  2. Emily says:

    Wonderful work! Can’t wait to see the finished product!

  3. Looking good! LOVE the Prada socks, brilliant to mesh with mitts.

  4. rachel says:

    Turning those Pradas into mitts? Girl, I love the way you think. I can’t wait to see the finished product.

  5. SusanB-knits says:

    Love it! I love the way the cable pops! I can’t wait for the pattern. Isn’t it great the way our brains work while we sleep?!

  6. Katie says:

    Wow, gotta love it when your dreams are useful! This looks way cooler as a mitt than as a sock.

  7. StephCat says:

    loved those socks when I saw them! your mitts will be adorable.

  8. topperarnold says:

    Oh I like that design better as mitts than stockings. Great job!

  9. Wendy says:

    Ooh, very chic. I’m looking forward to the finished product too.

  10. rmsheffler says:

    I’m in love! Can’t wait for this one. If you’re looking for a pattern tester, let me know!

Leave a Reply

