Yarn Review – Malabrigo Merino Worsted

Ok, so as if you all don’t know, I LOVE Malabrigo Merino Worsted. LOVE. It feels like cotton candy should (I love cotton candy, but am always disappointed with the texture. I haven’t felt the unspun fiber of Malabrigo, but I know that it is what cotton candy should feel like :P), is sooooo soft and warm, knits up super-quickly and works well with a variety of techniques.  If you want to check out all the projects I’ve worked in Mal, click here.

Malabrigo WIPs

Malabrigo WIPs

Right now, I’ve 3 projects on the needles (well, 2 on needles, 1 is being hooked :D) using Malabrigo Merino Worsted.  I’m crocheting Rheatheylia‘s Lattice Hat (her site), knitting my Column Hat prototype and knitting the second Love You Mom sock (no current WIP pic other than the piled up one from my last post). I wasn’t sure how much I was going to like crocheting with Mal since I’m not a very good crocheter and I’ve read that some people don’t like crocheted malabrigo as a fabric.  I think I prefer knitted fabric by a bit, but crocheted Mal is also nice.  It’s VERY thick, at least pattern is!  It’s basically a crochet fabric WITH another lattice layer over it.  I think it might be too chunky for a hat for me, at least with the shape it is making.  Maybe I’ll make it a bit bigger, then block some slouch into it.  And add a pompom.

Malabrigo Colorwork
I LOVE Malabrigo for colorwork. The fluffiness of the yarn makes really good at hiding the second color float behind the main fabric. And the colors are very complimentary to each other! As you can tell, I REALLY like mixing Malabrigo yellows with other Malabrigo colors.  If you are a bit worried about your color matching skills, head over to the Malabrigo Junkies to ask for help.  They have very good taste.

Malabrigo Colorwork

Other Malabrigo Thoughts

Malabrigo Collages

Mmm...

So, what else is Malabrigo good for? Some people say to avoid cables. I disagree. My By Starlight Mitts have very fat cables done in Malabrigo, and I find the yarn gives them a lot of “poof”. As well, the Love You Mom socks have cables done over just a couple of stitches and those are popping just fine. I think Malabrigo makes The Best Hats Ever. Super soft, super warm, super cozy. The yardage is great – I can get a hat and a pair of matching fingerless mitts out of a skein. If the mitts aren’t very long, sometimes there are enough scraps left to make a coffee cup cozy. Malabrigo felts amazingly and makes a very soft, but still substantial fabric. I’ll be showing off my felted Mal projects soon.

I haven’t made a full garment with Malabrigo yet, but I’ve drooled over those that I’ve seen in Ravelry. There is some concern about pilling, obviously, since it’s a single-ply, but most people seem to deal with it okay. I know that my By Starlight Mitts (my oldest Mal project) had a bit of pilling, but nothing very bad. I shaved them and they are still in very good condition.

This entry was posted in Designer Profile, Knit, Yarn Review. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Yarn Review – Malabrigo Merino Worsted

  1. Becky says:

    I have a sweater’s worth of Mal that I really need to make up — after one failed attempt. Maybe this winter.

    I am about to start the Lattice Hat (any day now!) and I think I’ll look for something thinner in my stash just because of the layering. Good tip — thanks!

  2. rachel says:

    I think the thing that attracts me to Mal immediately are the saturated colors, but then it’s so soft and dense that I want to make a hundred lacey shawlettes asap. :)

  3. yarnpiggy says:

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, Malabrigo! I am a proud Junkie, and happily refer to myself as a ‘Malabrigo Strumpet’ (as opposed to the Noro Whoros, who I just can’t relate to).

  4. Tammy says:

    I have bought Mal, but haven’t used it yet. I love the green hat!

  5. Katie says:

    I love Malabrigo! I haven’t made anything in worsted, and actually, all my Mal projects are still on needles, but the fabric so far is SO nice feeling, and it’s a dream to work with.

Leave a Reply

