One Great Knitter – Knitcroblog3

Write about a knitter whose work (whether because of project choice, photography, styling, scale of projects, stash, etc) you enjoy. If they have an enjoyable blog, you might find it a good opportunity to send a smile their way.

I’m going to double-dip this post with my second Designer Profile.  So, I’m giving a shout out to Alexandra Tinsley.

Designer: Alexandra Tinsley
Ravelry: Presents
Blog: Presents Knits

I think that she is a great designer, in that she creates very simple and effective designs, making use of tassles and fringe and pom-poms, which I think many designers today tend to avoid.  Her patterns have shown up on this blog a couple of times – I knit her Split Personality Mitts (rav project, pattern page), Phoncible (rav project, pattern page), Catacomb (rav project, project page), and Bad Oyster (rav project, pattern page).

Various projects from Presents' patterns

What really draws me to Presents’ patterns is the photography.  Alex is a very photogenic person, and she is very good at getting photographs of her patterns that are functional yet whimsical.  In general, she will have a photo of the full project, usually modelled on an actual person, and photos showing details as well.  Sometimes she takes the knitting out in the wild, and sometimes they are shown simply against a solid wall, but they are always shown clearly and from a couple of angles.  As someone who tends to fall back on the “stand by a tree and smile pretty” form of showing off hand-knits, I really appreciate Presents’ fun photography.  Once you actually get into knitting her patterns, it is smooth sailing.  They are well written and usually quite quick to knit.  The finished object will become a staple in your wardrobe, if you are anything like me :)

I think my next Presents Knits project will be Wabbit Season.  I’ve been craving that hat since her e-book, Go Go Malabrigo, was in testing.
knitcroblo3

This entry was posted in Designer Profile, Knit and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One Great Knitter – Knitcroblog3

  1. Alex says:

    Deanna!! Thank you so much! This is so sweet :-)

  2. rachel says:

    I love her designs! And the Presents Knits blog is sweet and so much fun. Great choice for day 3.

  3. Tez says:

    I love those hats <3 The shawl is beautiful as well.

  4. Becky says:

    Thanks for sharing this designer. Her work is interesting. More patterns to add to my queue!

  5. Alexandra says:

    I like her patterns too; especially the hats!

  6. Paige says:

    Oh, I like Wabbit Season too – good choice! I’m going to check out her blog.

  7. stephcuddles says:

    Never heard of her but am going to take a look, like the stripy hat :) queued.

  8. Mel says:

    Good choice- Have just queued bad oyster after reading this :D

Leave a Reply

