CO Swatch 1: Loop Cast On

So, for my first entry to the Swatch Book, I’ve got a couple of small swatches.

Loop Cast On found on page 65 of Reader’s Digest Knitter’s Handbook (RD KH).
I can’t find a video for this technique online. It is very similar to the backwards loop cast on, but twisted in the opposite direction.  You can, however, see an illustration on TechKnitter’s blog, under the “Casting On by ‘Looping On’ Method” post.

My directions
(I’ll get some pics in a few days, I have no photographer right now, so I can’t get pics of my hands)
Make a slip knot, place on needle, holding needle in right hand. Ignoring the tail yarn, slip your left index finger under the yarn going to the ball, and grab the yarn with your other fingers. Twist your hand so your palm is facing you and your index finger has a loop of yarn around it (the yarn going in front of your finger leads to the needle, and in back goes to the ball). With the needle tip, catch the back loop of yarn, going from the back to the front.

Yarn: Lion Brand Fisherman’s Wool in Natural
Needles: US7 needles
Finishing: Ends skimmed in, lightly steam blocked.

Swatch 1.0:
CO 30 sts with Loop Cast On (not backwards loop)
Rows 1-10: K10, (p1, k1) 5x, p10.
BO in pattern.

Swatch 1

Swatch 1

Swatch 2

Swatch 1.1

It is a very flexible and soft cast on, very stretchy.  If you don’t pay attention, it is VERY easy to drop stitches as you are knitting the first row. Because of the way the stitches are twisted, it blends right into a twisted rib when knit flat, though the edge is not a smooth one.

Swatch 1.1:
CO 15 sts with Loop Cast On.
Rows 1, 3, 5, 7, 8: (Ktbl, p1) to last st, ktbl.
Rows 2, 4, 6, 8, 10: (Ptbl, k1) to last st, ptbl.
BO in pattern.

This entry was posted in Knit, Swatch Book. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to CO Swatch 1: Loop Cast On

  1. Pingback: CO Swatch 3: Alternating Loop Cast On | Designs by Dianna

  2. chrisabbott says:

    Makes sense to me – I typically rip mine out or let them hang around like little mice all over the place…..and when I find a “tried a new cast on mouse” I do not know which method I used.

    • Alarid says:

      I’m very proud of myself–I’ve got them all nicely (well, stuffed) into page protectors in a scrapbook, with a post it pinned with which it is. I’m PLANNING on doing them up nice and pretty, but I’ll be happy enough with the post its if I get lazy! At least they are labelled.

  3. Andi says:

    This is a great idea! I always use the same CO and BO methods regardless of the design if the pattern doesn’t specify which to use. I’m in a rut.

    • Alarid says:

      I was getting irritated because the book didn’t show swatches of the cast on after a bit of knitting for ALL of the methods. I figured googling would be soooo much effort and swatching would CLEARLY be easier.

      Logic – I haz none.

Leave a Reply

