Layout – The Slouchy Trellis Hat

So, I was a test knitter for The Slouchy Trellis Hat.  Super cute hat, though mine didn’t turn out so well.  The pattern calls for a bulky alpaca yarn, and I used Malabrigo Chunky and those are not quite the same.  I’ll go into more details about that and show pics in another post – I stupidly sent it off with my stash to wait for me to finish school without getting pics first.  For now, let’s focus on this pattern!

I think it’s a great pattern.  The slouch on savedbygrace92‘s prototype was so cute, the lace panel gives the stockinette body just enough interest and the gauge makes it a knit-in-an-evening project.  I especially love the decreases – there is something about the spiralling lines on the top of hand knit hats that look so much nicer than store bought ones.

I redid the charts for the pattern and gave it a new layout, while trying to keep the vibe and aesthetics of the layout that she sent to the testers. As usual, the image here is just to give an idea of what the pattern layout looks like, if you’d like to have the pattern itself, here’s a link to where you can buy it :)

This entry was posted in Pattern Layout. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Layout – The Slouchy Trellis Hat

  1. Tammy says:

    That is a super cute hat! I am just starting to learn to knit, I crochet. It has been a challenge for me. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment! I can’t wait either to start blog week…

    • Alarid says:

      It is cute! I’m a knitter who occasionally crochets–I made a crochet newsboy hat that I think turned out pretty nicely :)

Leave a Reply

