Couple o’ Shawls (or, I do not purl)

Sorry for being a while from posting, between finals and test knitting and preparing to move out of dorms, I’ve been busy.  Pretty much everything I’m knitting is in WIP stage and not very interesting to look at, so I’m gonna show off a couple of shawls that I haven’t actually shown y’all yet.

First up is my Milkweed Shawl (here’s a non-Rav link), which I knit ages ago (really.  AGES.  Rav says I finished last August…) but didn’t show off here.

The Details:

Pattern: Milkweed Shawl (non-Rav link)

By: Laura Chau (blog)

Yarn: Zen Yarn Garden Sturdy Sock Yarn, Espresso colorway

Needles: US4/3.5mm circs

This pattern is great!  It’s garter-based, so there are no infinity-length purl rows AND it is completely reversible.  The pattern layout is beautiful and clear–both written out and charted.  It think this would make a great first lace pattern for a newer knitter who wanted to jump in with something that isn’t the usual scarf or dishcloth.

I also totally loved the yarn.  It was soft and sproingy and the color is just magnificent.  I don’t think I’d use it again for this pattern, as the sproingy-ness means that it doesn’t like to be blocked out into a shawl shape and condenses itself right back down.  But I’d definitely use the yarn again.  Over and over and over again.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The other shawl that I’m going to show is is named Volcano, ’cause that’s what it reminded me of while knitting it.

Pattern: Bad Oyster (non-Rav link)

By: Presents (blog)

Yarn: Malabrigo Sock, Archangel colorway

Needles: US 4/3.5mm

Again with the shawl patterns that don’t purl.  I’m thinking of teaching a friend of mine to knit, and if I do, this is the pattern we’ll be using.  I’ll start it off because the increases are fiddly at the very beginning, but then you knit. Round and round and round, increasing as you go until you make…a volcano!  Then you cut that volcano, and all of a sudden you have a shawl, complete with fringe.  Genius.

And the yarn.  Oh, Malabrigo.  It is soooo soft. And soooo squishy.  And soooo smooth.  I do believe that Malabrigo is perfection in yarn.  And this colorway!  My picture is terrible.  It looks like it’s a hard colorway to photograph, though.   The colors are amazing and perfect in real life.  And I don’t even like variegated yarn.

I’ll try to get some modelled pics of these for y’all soon.  Not in under a week though, as they’ve been sent away :(  So, I’ll show them off properly when I’m in my new home!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ETA:  And on the Dianna Designs front, I had a total brainwave and completely wrote out AND charted a hat pattern this afternoon. Worsted weight, super simple, but… really cool, if whatever comes off the needles actually looks like what is in my head.  The problem is, I’ve sent my yarn away, so I can’t knit it!  I’ve put up a thread looking for some brave testers to try it out unseen, and have one volunteer so far.  I can’t wait to see the pattern, hopefully it works out like I want it too!

This entry was posted in Dianna Designs, FO, Knit. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Couple o’ Shawls (or, I do not purl)

  1. Pingback: One Great Knitter – Knitcroblog3 | Designs by Dianna

  2. Deb Smith says:

    Beautiful shawls!! Really nice work.

  3. Deb says:

    The shawls are lovely!

  4. JelliDonut says:

    Those shawls are GORGEOUS! Nice yarn choices.

Leave a Reply

