Somewhat tired of ribbing…

I was test knitting a pair of socks.  It’s a great pattern, going to be called Bamboo Socks.  They were so much fun to knit, and I LOVE the finished product (can’t wait for the finished pair!  But, that may take a while, knowing me :P) They had a lot of ribbing.

And then I went on to knit a couple more of my Full O’ Win Toque. I’m rewriting the pattern to add in a smaller size and the 2 alternate versions that were in the Full o’ Win Mitts. I still have one more to knit. Looking at this pic, you can see how important it is to block this hat!  Fresh off the needles, it looks pretty misshapen and, to be honest, wonky.  The solid color is the large size, knit to the original pattern. The one with the purple is smaller and knit to match Version B of the Full o’ Win Mitts. I’m still going to need to knit one more, for Version C. Again, a LOT of ribbing.

And now, I’ve moved onto a pair of mitts (unpictured as of yet) with only and inch and a half of ribbing at the wrist, but I don’t know if I can do it!  I’m also going to be reknitting all of my Full o’ Win Mitts, so guess what? MORE RIBBING.

ETA:  One thing kind of interesting (at least to me) is that I seem to especially not like 2×2 ribbing.  I’m constantly finding myself tinking back, because I’ve knit or purled 3 somewhere and gotten offbalance.  I think my brain just naturally works in a beat of 6, because when I’m stressed or worried, what calms me down is counting “1, 2, 3” while inhaling and “4, 5, 6” while exhaling.  Maybe my most comfortable rib pattern is 3×3…

This entry was posted in Dianna Designs, FO, Knit, Test Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Somewhat tired of ribbing…

  1. Emily S. says:

    I totally know what you mean! I just finished the Classic Socks from 2-at-a-time socks (only I did them 1 at a time on dpns, cause im dumb like that!) and they were slow, black, dress socks on size 1’s… all ribbing, ugh! went right to a lace project and a cable project (simultaneously, of course!) as soon as I was done.
    I’ve been reading your blog for awhile but never commented. Your stuff is gorgeous and your pics always show your stitches so well.
    Emily
    Serendipity
    http://www.lilm4105.etsy.com

    • Alarid says:

      I bet the socks were nice when they were done though!

      Thank you for the comment! I’ve been working on getting better pictures (the pictures from back when I started blogged are…well, terrible would be being nice about it!) What I have trouble with is being a model! I see all these cute pictures of people wearing their knitted stuff and then get mine and…smile politely near a tree. I need to loosen up I think :D

Leave a Reply

