Keeping warm

Okay, seeing as it’s 6 degrees here (Celsius, so above freezing :p) I don’t really need to do that much to keep warm.

Doesn’t make the latest knitting any less luscious. First off, finished AGES ago and worn all winter, the Amanda Hat (original source), knit from yummy Malabrigo.
Again!
A couple of minor mods–I knit the initial lacy section a repeat shorter and moved that length to the top section, then knit a 1×1 rib the length of the bottom section and folded that under to make the hat double thick over my ears. I LOVE this Mal colorway–It’s called Stonechat and it makes me happy. It pooled a bit around the sides, but I can live with that.
hat!spiralhat

And then I’ve got my SUPER-COZY-CRAZY-WARM-UNATTRACTIVE thrummed socks. They are lumpy, bumpy, fuzzy, fat and generally weird looking, but I LOVE them. I knit them as part of the KYS Thrum-a-Long and am pretty pleased with myself.
IMG_0002IMG_0001
The yarn is my go-to for plain ole worsted wool, Diamond Yarn Galway and the red roving at the top was some leftover from my first (and only) yarn making attempt and the pink was handdyed for me by a fellow KYSwapper, Huggybear. You should check out her etsy shop, ’cause that roving was amazingly soft and pretty!

Thanks to everyone for the congratulatory messages!  You’ll be seeing pics of my fiance soon, I hope, as I knit him a cowl which needs to be shown off :p

This entry was posted in FO, Knit. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Keeping warm

  1. Snapper says:

    I just love that hat! and knit in mmmm…Malabrigo. Can’t get much better than that!

  2. kkhymn says:

    You have just received the creative blogger award. Read my post at
    http://kkhymn.wordpress.com/2009/02/15/kreativ-blogger-awards/

  3. rima aranha says:

    Your hat and socks are really cute! Lovely work!
    (came here through comment train. See you often on blogland!)

  4. lola says:

    Those socks look like they’d be great since 6 degrees still sounds pretty cold! I am very impressed with your yarn making, btw. It totally looks like yarn! Amazing.

    Also, I nominated you for an award over at my blog! I love your blog!

    http://thefightorflight.blogspot.com/2009/02/you-like-me-you-really-like-me.html

  5. Batty says:

    I love that hat! And the mittens are awesome. I have some Malabrigo worsted in my stash. If I get leftovers after I finish the Lady February sweater, I may use it for a hat. It is soft enough to wear next to the skin.

  6. Merenwen says:

    Above freezing? envy (1)! It’s really cold in southern Ontario, but it’s supposed to be warming up :)

  7. SusanB-knits says:

    I love your hat! The colors are lovely. I haven’t tried any Malabrigo worsted yet. I like their sock yarn and would buy more of it.

  8. gimpykatk says:

    Oh I want some of those thrummed socks… my feet are FREEZING

Leave a Reply

