The Handmade Stuff Post

Okay, so first off and most importantly in my world, yesterday whilst vulching the NYE Kick-Ass thread in Karma Yarn Swap (you need to be a member of Ravelry to use those links), a few people and I slightly derailed to talk spinning. Recently, susannemw of KYS sent me a spindle and pretty roving. So, yesterday, I made me some yarn.

boo 002

So, it’s lumpy and bumpy and very much of the thick ‘n thin variety, but I’m pretty pleased. I don’t even know the yardage or fiber content. But, there isn’t much. I have no idea what I’m gonna do with it–besides keep it so I can see how far I’ve come later on when I’m an awesome spinner :p ‘Cause that right there isn’t awesome spinning. Some parts are overspun, others are hardly spun at all, I kept managing to tangle roving into it somehow. But, I’m very impressed with myself anyway. BECAUSE I MADE YARN.

boo 003boo 004

boo 005As for other handmade stuff, I received a set of stitch markers from Ganiggle today. They are so totally cool. If you find yourself in need of stitch markers and aren’t able to snag a set of mine on KYS :p I totally recommend buying a set of hers. I mean, look at those, aren’t they pretty? And the wraps are perfect and they aren’t heavy. I’m crazy picky about stitch markers (rejected like 7 sets while knitting one sweater…), but I love these. Here’s a link to her blog and her shop.

boo 006Another thing about the stitch markers is they fit nicely into cute little bags. You know, awesome little bags made by Psst. I claimed it on KYS and it is so much cuter than I expected. Plus, I’m constantly tangling stuff up in my project bags, so having this should help. I plan on stuffing it to the max with darning needles, mini-scissors/nail clippers and stitch markers and just taking it with whatever bag I’m using. She’s got a bunch more cute ones in her etsy shop and if you want to see what she’s up to, here’s her blog.

This entry was posted in Knit. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Handmade Stuff Post

  1. Bianca says:

    The bag is looking wonderful. I love the colour you chose for it.

  2. Batty says:

    You yarn looks great! My first yarn was very similar, except orange. Great first effort.

  3. Samsara says:

    Great first job! Mine looked pretty much the same my first time :-) Congratulations on discovering a new addiction!

  4. Phyllis says:

    Hi From The Ravelry Comment Train,
    Good job on the first time spinning. You’re gonna love spinning.

  5. Janette says:

    Very nice!
    My kids think mine looks like something from a freak show LOL

  6. Aunt Kathy says:

    Congratulations on Making Yarn, it’s only the beginning

Leave a Reply

