I made a hat last night!

0000 433

And I’m really quite impressed with myself. It is Foliage from Knitty knit with Lion Brand Jiffy. I wasn’t expecting to like the yarn, but I really do, actually. It isn’t obnoxiously fuzzy like it seems like it might be when in the skein and the color is really nice. The yarn didn’t snag or split and held up even through 2 or 3 froggings. For some reason, I couldn’t get the pattern to line up properly. And I really really like the way the finished product feels.
0000 4340000 436

Great pattern, too. Written directions and charted–I went by written ’cause my chart skills aren’t so great and I knit it while watching a movie. TV causes too many distractions for chart knitting for me. I can definitely see myself knitting it again or adapting it for a lighter weight yarn more suitable for summer. It has instructions for chunky and worsted versions, but I think a DK bamboo version would be quite nice :D

Oh, and one last photo for the teen knitters of Rav, who are in a hair-showing-off mood. I desperately need at least a trim.

0000 438

This entry was posted in FO, Knit. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I made a hat last night!

  1. Sarah says:

    that’s a very very very pretty hat!

  2. Tanja says:

    A beautiful hat.

    Tanja

  3. rockfieldqh says:

    Love the hat! Too cute!

  4. Knitpickins says:

    Wow… I’m surprised that this turned out so well with the Jiffy. I would have thought it would be too fuzzy for a Foliage.

    Didn’t recognize you on Ravelry with the new Ravatar, until I came to your blog. Nice blog!

  5. Angie says:

    Cute hat! May have to try that one.

  6. Tamika says:

    Love the hat! Easy to follow, huh? I may make this pattern…

  7. ria f says:

    Duh, i see you live in canada, I can mail there too.

    ria

  8. ria f says:

    All your work is so pretty. I really like the gloves and stitch markers – not really into wearing hats. I personally HATE Jiffy after using t for 2 projects. I have 1 skein left, if you live in the us and want it, e-mail me and I’ll send it to you.

    Ria (tonyfan20 on ravelry)

  9. AJ says:

    Such a pretty color! It’s like wine or something. And your shirt matches nicely with it.

  10. Alisha says:

    Super cute! I love the way it fits. You look great in it! Nice work.

  11. Aunt Kathy says:

    Love the hat. Looks like a fun pattern

  12. cdaniele says:

    Great hat, it looks so cute on you!

  13. Karen S says:

    Yay, brilliant and beautiful as usual! You did a terrific job!

  14. pssttracyknits says:

    Great job!

Leave a Reply

