Another FO finally!

And, no, I didn’t even mess up the white balance on these photos. The walls are a pale beige, hit by evening sunlight, so looks even more yellow. But, the red on the gloves is very true. And, yep, my skin tone is actually that strange. I’m the same color as my Irish boyfriend’s freckles, actually. But that’s a bit better than a friend of mine from high school–she was cardboard-box colored. No joke. We made a cardboard cutout of her for a play and she was the same color as the box. It caused much amusement.

0000 428

But, yeah, those are the gloves that I was knitting with the Fingerless Glove Fanatics LAST MONTH. Finished the KAL a little late :p Pattern is Merletto Mitts, but crazy modified. Knit with KP Palette in red. No fancy colorway names for that one :D
0000 4300000 431
So, the mods:
1. CO only 48 stitches. At gauge, the pattern works out to be about 7.8 inches around. Obviously a bit large for my barely 6 inch wrists.
2. Carried the pattern, minus the cables ’cause of the lack of stitches, around the back of the wrist until the palm/beginning of gusset. Easiest way to do the back is to follow the chart, but when you get to the column of 6 stitches that make the cable, just knit one stitch instead. So, just to make it confusing :p

On all even rows: K all.
On all pattern rows: Work first 29 stitches exactly as pattern states.
For the last 19 stitches:
Rows 1, 5: k1, *yo, sl 1, k1, psso, k1, k2tog, yo, k1. Repeat from * 2 more times.
Rows 3, 7: k2, (yo, sl 1, k2tog, psso, yo, k3) 2 times, yo, sl 1, k2tog, psso, yo, k2.

I believe that should work. I mean, it did for me, but I may have messed up in transcribing. But, like I said, easier to just work from the chart and turn the cable column into one stitch on the last 19 stitches.
3. Lengthened thumb gusset by doing increases every 3rd, not 2nd rounds
4. 12 rows of 3×3 ribbing instead of the pretty, but kinda wonky, ribbing the pattern had.

Overall, it was an enjoyable knit.  I mean, the fact that the pattern is 7 pages long is a bit of a downer, especially considering there is at least a full page if you add up all of the banner ads at the top of each page and then the last page itself is one, fuzzy picture so kinda not worth printing…but, hey, it was a nice pattern and free, so can’t complain too much.   The layout-geek in me was crying, though.

This entry was posted in FO, Knit. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Another FO finally!

  1. Kay says:

    Love the foliage hat! I have been wanting to make one of those myself! :)

    Dkswife from the Rav Blog Train!

  2. sandra says:

    very nice hat.
    loveley, kiss from portugal.

  3. reply to KnitaSaur

    I commented!

    I love that hat and the fingerless gloves.

    http://beancountingknitter.blogspot.com/

  4. rainin9 says:

    I’m almost finished with my second mitt. :) Your gloves look very pretty and for a second I almost I thought I read the instructions wrong when I saw the lace pattern on the underside of the mitt too. Haha :D

  5. Aunt Kathy says:

    Your presentation of the gloves is great, they look wonderful.

  6. monkeymanm says:

    envy (4) !!! Now I may have to cast on, a month late and a KAL short ;)

  7. ames says:

    “The layout-geek in me was crying, though.”

    The language geek in me wants to take a pen and correct “wet” to “whet”. But oh, they are pretty. I may have to make a pair myself.

  8. PrincessPea says:

    Ooh, they are so pretty! Love the colour.

Leave a Reply

