Call for writers!

The Fingerless Glove Newsletter Issue 2 has started the prep-work. And we are looking for help! Here’s what we are looking for so far:

Contest: This time it’s Haikus. PM me on Ravelry with up to two haikus about Fingerless Gloves for to enter the contest!  THESE WILL BE PUBLISHED IN THE NEWSLETTER.  You must be a member of the Fingerless Glove Fanatics to win (but we aren’t exclusive.  Just hit the join button over there) Submissions in by Sunday, June 22.

Haiku: a three–line poem in which the first line has five syllables, the second line has seven syllables, and the third line has five syllables

Example:
The Fingerless Glove
group is my favorite one.
Addicts, just like me!

~~~

Photo: I’m wanting an actual cover this time. So, send me your outdoor fingerless glove photos in a PM (link to flickr page is fine) I may only use one for the cover or I may do a collage. I dunno :p Let’s get those in by Wednesday June 11. Very quick!

~~~

Writer: I think a regular feature with the recent designs coming out of FGF could be cool–and not just ‘cause I’m doing one right now :p But, like, an article with the little “life storys” of designs from the designers in FGF who’ve made designs recently. Between 200-750 words. PM if you’d like to write this article this issue or take charge of it as a regular feature!

~~~

Writer: Tips and Tricks. Doesn’t need to be a large article, so perfect for someone without a lot of time to spare. Just a little blurb with some tips and tricks for knitting fingerless gloves.

~~~

Designer: I keep thinking it’d be cool to have a free pattern available through the newsletter. We have a nice readership here, so it’s a decent way to get some exposure. If you have a pattern you’d like to have available through the newsletter, let me know!

~~~

Yarn/pattern review: Anyone up for doing a review? Fairly simple–choose a yarn, get a pic of it in it’s normal state, knit a swatch, let us know what you think. Or do a pattern. Between 200 and 750 words.

~~~

Let me know if you’d like to take on any of these! I’ll be keeping the list on the forum updated, but probably not here ’cause I’m lazy. And if you have an idea for something that you’d like to read, but don’t really want to write, let me know! :D Would you like to donate a prize? Let me know and I’ll send the info to you!

This entry was posted in Knit, Not Knit. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Call for writers!

  1. heatherly says:

    ok, i will have to think about one but in the mean time:
    http://www.threadless.com/product/623/Haikus_are_easy_but

  2. Bianca says:

    Just sent you a PM (my user name is Lansingerland)

  3. Batty says:

    This sounds interesting! Somebody needs to be writing about the glove-knitting woes of people with freakishly small wrists, I’m starting to think…

  4. rainin9 says:

    Cool! I need to think of which one I want to do first. I feel like I want to do everything, and that’d be unfair! :)

Leave a Reply

