I’m a liar.

I still don’t have that pattern done. I’m writing it up using the same program I use for SUP layout and I totally forgot how you have to at least quadruple the estimated time of finishing when using that program. Not that it is all that difficult, but it is time consuming. It’ll be pretty when it is done though. To fill a bit of time, I’ll do the FO post for Portal, just missing the pattern. Some of the pics are a bit fuzzy. I blame the sub-zero temperatures of the basement. Makes KnitaSaurs a bit shaky.


Pattern: My almost-existing one
Yarn: Bernat Satin Solids
Amount: Full skein Black (163 yards)
Almost full skein White (~140 yards)
Much less than a skein blue
Needles:US 4, 3.5mm straights (Aero aluminum?)
Time: Dec 2 – Dec 31
Knit mostly: While watching the O.C. and So You Think You Can Dance reruns
Knit for: Greg
Notes: Pattern to come, I promise
What I thought about the yarn: I couldn’t get the center string out of any of the skeins. Lots of tangles. Very soft, shiny. Very splitty. For what I paid for, I’d buy it again.
Changes I would make next time: Add some garter to the edges to help stop the rolling. Massive rolling. Maybe use yarn that can be blocked. I’d probably do another repeat of the pattern, too. I like really long scarves.
What I learned during the making of these: Illusion knitting! Yay!

Now, on to the new stuff.
I went from casting on to about 45 lines into the Feather and Fan Comfort Shawl today.


It’s about two feet wide. This is less impressive than it sounds – I’m using Red Heart Symphony and size 11 needles, so it’s just flying along. My first attempt at lace. Well, actually those pictures are of my 3rd attempt. Here’s the first two:

Turns out ripping back this yarn sucks. Really sucks. I’m liking it, though. It is going to be sooo warm. Just knitting with it makes my hands warm. Really soft, too. I’m kind of disappointed though-I’ve gotten to the point where rows are taking a bit longer. And it’s only going to get worse . . . luckily the pattern is interesting enough to keep me entertained. I’m getting the feeling that most shawls aren’t knit on straight needles. There are going to be a lot of stitches very soon and they are already bunching up. It doesn’t help that the needles I am using are short to begin with.

This entry was posted in FO, Knit and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

