Disappointing Jones and Mafia! Oh, and how could I forget Media Monday? (almost a week late. . .)

So, yet another CHOP last night. I arrived, complete with my Greg so he could get his Magic fix, and was accosted by Nicole. She was collecting an elite Mafia team to head off to the McNish home for an awesome game of Mafia, and only feeling a little guilty for the exclusion of everyone else. However, that wasn’t planned to start until 9ish, so I stuck around the church for awhile, playing Wii, watching Magic and spear-bear-hugging random people. Yay! I also bought the most disappointing Jones ever from the food bar thing. Why was it disappointing?

See! It had a pretty picture and was advertised as yummy pink grapefruit and I was so excited for it and only noticed the SUGAR-FREE label after I had a drink. Yuck.

So, then, around 9 I ditched the Greg with a bunch of people he may or may not have known before hand, I’m not really sure, and went off to play Mafia. By 10:30, we still hadn’t started, so I rushed back to the church to get him so he wouldn’t be stuck there waiting for me (since he really had no idea where I had gone.) Then the Mafia began! Three games later, I had been Mafia, doctor, and Mafia again. And I had lost each game. Sooo much fun, though! I love Mafia, and 14-17 people is optimum methinks.

Last Sunday, I decided that I was going to add “Media Monday” to my blog-time. The week went by, and it didn’t happen. Basically, I plan to, on Monday, give a quick (or not so quick) review of whatever media I’ve encountered over the week. I’m using multiple definitions of media: the Wiki definition: “In the arts, media (plural of medium) are the materials and techniques used by an artist to produce a work,”; one from Motto: “Forms of mass communication. Newspapers, magazines, direct mail, billboards, bus signs, radio, television and internet are some important media that carry advertising.” But who cares about definitions. What it comes down to is, if I watch tv and see something interesting, I’ll tell ya about it. Or dvds or books or magazines or music or board games or the first 9 episodes of the first season of The O.C.
On that note: Greg gave me the first season of The O.C. for Christmas! I know, I know, Christmas hasn’t come yet. But, how else would he bribe me to at least try to enjoy myself while learning to play Arkham Horror? (Which, for the record, is a fun game, if a little complex. Although, it seems a bit like a more horror-y overly complicated version of Space Munchkin.) Anyways, the first 9 episodes of the O.C. Yep, I got through those in less than a week. What can I say? The acting can be a bit bad absolutely wretched, the script is silly, but I can’t stop watching it! It is so surrealistic, yet I sympathize with the characters. A Smashing Pumpkins song showed up in episode 4, which was fantastic, and the end of episode 3 had me crying. I remember back when The O.C. first aired, I made fun of it, having seen a few minutes. And looking at how much happens in a few minutes of an episode, I can see why. But I like it. It is probably not good for me, I think that it is total crap tv, but makes for good knitting fodder, and I am stoked for checking out the special features and stuff that came with the DVD’s. Would I recommend it to other people? Absolutely. Go into it with low expectations, and love it for what it is. Brain candy, essentially. Not needed for life, but oh so good.

I may as well also do a late YPF post. I’ve decided to opt out of the webring; I do not have enough pretty yarn to do a weekly pr0n post. However, any yarn pr0n I do post is searchable out of my pretty tag cloud under “Yarn Pr0n” So, this time, it’s got to be that beautiful Handpaint Originals from MNKNITS. Just look at those colors! So many and soooo pretty!

So, the details:
Brand/Name/Site: Brown Sheep Company, Inc Handpaint Originals in Sunbaked Earth
Fiber: 70% mohair, 30% wool
Weight: Aran/10 ply (8 wpi)
Yards/Unit Weight: 88 yards, 50 grams (80 meters, 1.76 oz)
I own: 1 skein
Recommended Gauge: 18 sts = 4 inches, 4.5 sts = 1 inch
Recommended Needle Size: US 7 – 9, 4.5 – 5.5 mm
Often Used to Make: Wristwarmers, scarves, hats, Calorimetry
What am I going to do with it: I have no idea. This stuff is so pretty that it’ll have to be something good. If anyone has any ideas, let me know!

Tangent: Those crazy long life Energizer rechargeable that have been powering my camera since Thanksgiving (Canadian one, too) finally died. Luckily, they are rechargeable. And they came in a pack of 4, so I’m figuring the ones I just put in will last till Valentines Day at least. Those are some batteries . . .

ETA: link for Fetching thumb trick.

This entry was posted in Not Knit and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

